Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Member Search
President's Award
Share |

IDC President's Award


Michael L. Resis

President's Award Recipient

President R. Mark Mifflin presented the 2017 President’s Award to Michael L. Resis of SmithAmundsen, LLC, Chicago at the IDC Annual Meeting and Awards Luncheon in June.

In honoring Mr. Resis, President Mifflin remarked that “Mike has served on the Board of Directors and the Executive Committee for many years and remains a common-sense participant on all issues. Mike served as the guiding force for the amicus committee and set the framework for the past, present and future successful functioning of this vital committee. Mike will be a great president of the IDC next year.”

In accepting the award, Michael said “I am deeply honored to receive this award, coming as it does from Mark, our immediate past president, and I look forward to serving with my fellow officers and members of the board of directors in the coming year.”

Michael Resis is a founding partner and chairman of SmithAmundsen’s appellate department. He has practiced law in Chicago for more than 30 years and handled more than 600 appeals. Mike has represented government, business and professional organizations as amicus curiae before the Illinois Supreme Court and the Illinois Appellate Court. He is admitted to practice in the state of Illinois, before the United States Supreme Court, the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit, the United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit, the Northern District of Illinois, and the Eastern District of Wisconsin. He has been admitted pro hac vice before the Wisconsin Supreme Court, the Wisconsin Court of Appeals, the Iowa Court of Appeals, the Indiana Court of Appeals, the Washington State Court of Appeals, and the Missouri Court of Appeals. In addition to his involvement with the Illinois Association of Defense Trial Counsel, Michael is a past member of the Board of Directors for the Illinois Appellate Lawyers Association.

Previous Award Recipients


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal